Panko-Crusted Chicken and Potatoes

Well, have I discovered something outrageously wonderful to replace high-sodium bread crumbs – Panko bread crumbs! I made up this skillet dish last week and it was scrumptious. There were no leftovers, unfortunately. 🙂

Recipe of the Week: Panko-Crusted Chicken and Potatoes

5 uncooked chicken tenders, tenderized, cut into bite-size pieces, marinated in white wine
2 medium potatoes, unpeeled and cubed
2 leeks, chopped (white part only)
1/4 c. chopped baby bellas
1/2 c. Panko bread crumbs
3 tbs. olive oil
1 tsp. minced garlic
sprinkle of sea salt
several shakes of Bragg’s Organic Sprinkles (yellow lid)

Directions:
1. In large skillet, saute potatoes, leeks, mushrooms, sea salt, and a couple shakes of Bragg’s in olive oil. Cover skillet for 10 minutes, stir; repeat two more times. (This thoroughly steams/browns the potatoes.)
2. While that’s cooking, prepare the chicken. In a brownie pan, put the bread crumbs and stir in some Bragg’s. Drain the chicken pieces and dredge them in the Panko bread crumbs. 3. When the potato mixture is ready, push it to the side of the skillet and drain off excess oil. Add the chicken to the cleared space and brown, stirring occasionally for evenness.
4. When it’s smelling good, stir everything together for another two or three minutes.
5. Serve with fried apples and steamed veggies sprinkled with Mrs. Dash’s Garlic and Herbs.

Thought of the Week: I love chlorophyll! The way the sun shines through the neon green of spring leaves and ferns fills every cell of my body with joy!

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealogy, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 19 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Recipe and Thought for the Week and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

