Fresh and Lite Fruit Cocktail Cake

Where there’s a will, there’s a way…Danny loves fruit cocktail cake, but since his stroke his diet has been limited to low-sugar, low-sodium. and fat-free. However, I managed to make his favorite cake with a few adjustments, and it still tastes great.

Recipe of the Week: Fresh and Lite Fruit Cocktail Cake

1 pkg. yellow cake mix (Duncan Hines had less sodium than Betty Crocker)
1 can DelMonte Lite Fruit Cocktail, undrained
2 eggs
1 tsp. Mexican vanilla
1/3 c. chopped organic strawberries

Glaze:
1+ tbs. hot water
1 c. powdered sugar
1 tsp. Mexican vanilla

Directions: Preheat oven to 350F.
1. In large bowl, beat eggs with vanilla. Add cake mix and fruit cocktail. Stir with wooden spoon until well blended (5 minutes). Mix in strawberries.
2. Pour into non-stick, 9×13 pan. (If you don’t use non-stick pans, coat a glass one as you usually do.) Bake for 40 minutes or until toothpick in middle comes out clean. Place on cooling rack or trivet.
3. In 2-cup measuring cup, mix powdered sugar, water, and vanilla. Glaze should be thick like syrup. Add more hot water in small increments as needed.
4. Drizzle glaze over the top of the cake.
5. Serve warm and it melts in your mouth. (With the help of my son, nephew, and sister we made short work of this cake a few days ago.)

Options:  Add other fresh fruit – raspberries, blueberries, blackberries, peaches – and substitute 2/3 cup of organic applesauce for the can of fruit cocktail.

*****

Thought of the Week: I wish I could say that after viewing all the treasures people found at garage sales and had appraised on the Antiques Roadshow, we have become garage sale fanatics – but I can’t. The temporary inspiration to become garage sale enthusiasts fades away by the time the weekend rolls around. There are always more important or necessary things for us to do on Saturdays, like watching Little League or going to art museums. I will admit, however, that we do stop at a garage sale once or twice a year. Danny will look for art and books, while I’m check out toys/books for the grandchildren and gardening pots. But it’s a random event; we don’t search for them. We prefer rummaging through antique stores.

(When I took this odd lamp that we bought at a San Antonio antique mall to the Antique Roadshow, I was chagrined to learn that it was only worth $100 more than we paid for it. The appraiser said he had never seen anything like it and had no clue where it had been made.)

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous Thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

