Rootbound

A few days ago, I finally satisfied my gardening bug by going to Lowe’s for prettifying backyard plants. Besides two gorgeous bougainvillea, I chose a couple Stella daylilies and some Mexican heather to put into a large pot, thinking the yellow and purple blooms would compliment each other.

 

However, in my haste to appease my gardening hunger, I did not look at the bottom of the pots. To my dismay, the three Mexican heathers were grossly rootbound.

In such a situation, there are three options, and, since I had three plants, I decided to do one of each for experimentation’s sake. So, after planting the taller lily plants in the middle of the pot, I brought out my handy-dandy boning scissors from the kitchen for the heathers.

Option #1: Cut the container sides, but leave the bottom intact, and plant.
Option #2: Cut the container sides and carefully cut the bottom into small pieces and remove, leaving the roots as intact as possible, then plant.
Option #3: Cut the container bottom off, remove the plant from the plastic and plant. This one made my green thumb throb with agony.

Here is the pretty result; however, I’ll monitor the heathers to see if they all grow the same.

Best gardening tip: Use Miracle Gro Moisture Control Potting Mix (especially in hot climates), water the soil before adding the plants to the pot, then add a little water after the planting is finished and more soil has been added. This will help the roots branch out and take hold sooner. (Exception: cacti, of course.) Always follow a plant’s sun and water directions for maintaining healthy flora.

*****

 In another way, I am completely rootbound to my loving family, which is constantly growing.:-)

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealogy, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 19 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous Thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

