A Wedding and a Week of Family

As family gathered from California, Nebraska, Colorado, and Iowa for daugther Merideth’s wedding, I got my wish: All my babies were here together. On Saturday morning, those of us not needed for the wedding rehearsal rode the train (see previous post for photo) and fed the ducks at Landa Park.

(After a while, Oliver decided he was hungrier for the bread than the ducks and geese were.)

There was a brief time for backyard fun with Ripley in her flower girl hairdo.

The lovely wedding, held at the historic Faust Hotel, brought old and new friends together, as well as joining families. In his vows, our meant-to-be son-in-law, Kipp, was not only marrying his true love but gaining the children he always wanted in Ben, Calvin, and Lizzie. Their marriage made another cherished family unit and we are all blessed.

On Sunday, we celebrated Ripley’s fourth birthday before Megan, Necalli, and Mollie had to return to California.

While Merideth and Kipp briefly honeymooned for three days, Calvin, Lizzie, and Ben stayed with us as well (taking the place of Megan, Necalli, and Mollie :-)). When they were in school: I spent time with Carlo and Oliver, while Tyler and Tracy worked on their rental house for the new tenants, who are friends from the Peace Corps; Tyler delivered the furniture he had made in and driven out from California to here; and Tracy either met up with some of her New Braunfels friends, ran errands, or took the boys for playtimes with other home-schooled children. In the afternoons, the school bus dropped off Ben at our house, so Carlo and Oliver could see him right away and resume playing and drawing. (The mosquitoes and heat didn’t make for much outdoor fun.) Calvin and Lizzie arrived an hour later, but were pretty much ignored by the younger boys.

Because Ben is such a good student, we were able to keep him home from school on Wednesday to spend the day with Carlo. They are two peas in a pod – only six months apart, intelligent, imaginative, and talented. They crack each other up, make up games, build with Legos, conspire about their future together, and never argue. It’s quite amazing, and such a shame they live so far apart now. They miss each other so much that they cannot bear to talk with each other on the phone, which they consider a poor substitute. They do not even want to Skype. Their relationship is quite remarkable.

Later that day, Mer and Kipp returned in time for Ben’s Little League game. His team, the Reds, continued their undefeated streak. (Of course, I didn’t take my camera.)

Yesterday, some of us had breakfast together and then went over to Mom and Dad’s to see the newest addition to our family – my grand nephew, 6-weeks-old Copelan, my brother’s first grandson.

Sadly, Tracy/Carlo/Oliver had to return to California later in the day. However, Tyler, a fine-woodworking craftsman ( http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uwJiZPHvJY0 ), is staying longer to complete some projects for one of Danny’s clients before driving the long way back home.

All week I was so busy enjoying the kids that most of the time I forgot to take pictures of them. Maybe I should consider mounting a couple of those video cameras in their play areas and outdoors the next time they’re all here…

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

