Cool Summer Dessert

In many areas of the country summer has arrived. In others, it has hinted at what is to come. Wherever you happen to be, this refreshing dessert will be a welcome treat.

Recipe of the Week: Fruit with Sherbert

1 honeydew melon, cut in half and deseeded
3 Clementine oranges, peeled and sectioned
2 c. organic strawberries, sliced
2 c. rainbow or pineapple sherbert
2 tbs. sifted powdered sugar or dry gelatin dessert powder
lime/lemon juice or water
sprigs of mint (optional)

Directions:
1. With melon baller, scoop out flesh of melon.
2. Combine all fruit in bowl, cover, and refrigerate.
3. Place powdered sugar or gelatin in pie pan. Dampen rims of dessert glasses or bowls in juice or water, then dip in the pie pan.
4. Divide the fruit mixture into the glasses/bowls. Top each with scoop of sherbert and garnish with sprig of mint (optional). Serve immediately and be cooled from the inside out.

*****

Thought of the Week: A faint scent of gardenia greets me as I open the back door to the patio. Last year, the plant did not present but three flowers. This month is has bloomed and continues to rebloom. I moved it only six inches into a tad more light, but whalah! It’s getting more rain, too, instead of hose water. And maybe the liquid plant food I gave it was more to its liking than those green spikes…Now I see what I did – I gave it more of everything it needed and it thanked me in the only way it could. 🙂

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Recipe and Thought for the Week and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

