Empty Nest

Last week, one of my sisters brought to my attention that we had a nest in the hanging pothos plant on the front porch. I instantly wondered if I had unknowingly doused them, when watering the plant in the previous weeks.

Yesterday, I checked on the two baby birds and saw by their coloring they were song sparrows.

This morning, much to my surprise, they were gone, probably urged by their parents to take better cover in the trees. That doesn’t seem possible, given that they were still huddled together yesterday; however, a quick search determined they hadn’t fallen out onto the porch or yard either.

The nest is a nasty mess with their parents’ poop, so I’ll have to don my plastic gloves and remove it. Birds don’t reuse nests, do they? I never minded having an empty nest, knowing it would be visited often.

*****

The starlings, on the other hand, continue to inhabit their smaller nest atop a flood light. (You can see a tail sticking out on the left.)

Their parents were objecting fiercely when I was taking these updated photos, while perched on a step ladder. They flew quite close to me like little dive bombers, but I was not intimidated. There appeared to be three or four of them, fully feathered and crammed into their little home. (Last spring, another starling family nested there and a couple of the chicks fell onto the driveway. We put them back, but they were repeatedly booted out. Danny nailed a landing under the nest to no avail.)

One wonders if they will ever leave, as they seem fully grown, not unlike some adult children. Removing the nest, after its empty, obviously does not deter renesting.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous Thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Empty Nest

  1. Claire Cappetta says:

    They probably flew back after a training flight and said “Wow! Did you know Mom and Dad were getting foreclosed on?”

    Like

  2. I can’t one up Claire’s comment above, “Too cute” is right. Will just confirm that your post was sweet, heartful, and pleasantly insightful. Thanks.

    Like

    • Cyranette says:

      Thank you, John Paul. It’s always a pleasure to hear from you.

      Like

      • Ditto. I liked Claire’s clever comment enough to check her blog out. Very interesting. I try to be selective, and just have a few folks like you I “follow” (I do it my own way, just check your blog periodically on my own, otherwise just too much “stuff” builds up). I like making real connections with a few folks, and get to know them. So yes, I always like when I see you have commented, cause I know who you are…for real.

        Like

Leave a Reply

