Squash Medley

There are many varieties of squash and several ways to cook them. While winter is a good time to bake acorn and butternut squash, summer is a good time for short-cooking smaller squashes. Summer squashes contain vitamin C, beta-carotene, folate, and fiber, all of which help in preventing cancers, heart disease, and inflammatory diseases, such as arthritis and asthma. Just pick, rinse, and cut. No peeling or deseeding required.

Recipe of the Week: Squash Medley with Corn

2 yellow squash (straight or crook neck), sliced or cubed
2 zucchini , sliced or cubed
1 green pattypan/scalloped squash, cubed
1 yellow pattypan/scalloped squash, cubed
1/2 medium yellow onion, diced
1 small can Mexicorn
2 tbs. Land-O-Lakes fresh buttery spread
3 twists sea salt
3 shakes pepper
3 shakes dried cumin

Directions: In stainless steel or cast iron skillet, heated on medium, add light butter, onion, all squashes, and seasonings. Stir and cover, cook for 10 minutes. Lower heat a notch and stir in Mexicorn, cook uncovered for 5 minutes, stirring occasionally. Serve with chicken fajitas and Spanish rice.

Option: Add cubed, browned leftover roasted chicken to skillet at the same time as the Mexicorn.
Option: After the squash and onions have cooked, put them in a baking dish, add Mexicorn and leftover chicken, top with grated Queso Oaxaca or Weight Watchers Mexican cheese, and bake at 350 for 15 minutes.

*****

Thought of the Week: For the past two months, I have been amazed that our tomato plants have been left alone. However, on Tuesday morning I found that the biggest tomato yet to present itself had had the bottom eaten out of it. I was peeved, thinking that the squirrels that had thus far ignored the succulent temptation had succumbed. Soooo, I filled the kiddie pool with water and set the two pots inside – instant moat. Knowing the furry-tailed chatterboxes could jump, I was pretty sure they didn’t like to swim. If necessary, I could always get a larger pool. (They are pots within pots and not in danger of getting root rot.)

All was good on Wednesday, but yesterday I caught a bird scooping out an almost ripe tomato. Plan 2: Buy some light-weight mesh.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealogy, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 19 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Recipe and Thought for the Week and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Squash Medley

  1. Claire Cappetta says:

    The recipe sounds good, but no idea what mexicorn is… Must look that one up! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

