“Prometheus”

It’s been quite a while since high school mythology, so I was straining my brain last night to recall who Prometheus was, besides the name of a spaceship. The quest for specific aliens, who supposedly created mankind on Earth, gave me an inkling of an idea. (He was the Greek, titan god who made humans from clay, stole fire from the main gods so that humans would flourish, and was punished by Zeus in a yucky way.)

After a couple brief explanatory scenes from the past, most of “Prometheus” is set in 2093 with the huge ship landing on an alien moon far, far away. The scientists, astronauts, security mercenaries, and investors in the privately-funded project have been cryogenically asleep for two years, while a robot, David (Michael Fassberger), has maintained the course and their safety.  Two archaeologists, Elizabeth Shaw (Noomi Apace of the subtitled “The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo”) and Charlie Holloway (Logan Marshall-Green), also her lover, found a similar cluster of stars in several archaeological sites around the world that had them suppositioning as to the origins of mankind, which inspired the space project. After awakening, they help navigate the landing of Prometheus close to an alien-made structure. And, thus, the exploration begins.

Created by an eccentric, dying billionaire (of course), Peter Weyland (Guy Pierce), who has financed the adventure, David has been programmed secretly to find a particular section of the structure and perhaps immortality (of course) for his creator. Overseeing the project is bossy, aloof Meredith Vickers (Charlize Theron), who suspects David has been keeping something from her. Captain Janek (Idris Elba of Britain’s “Luther” fame) is “just the pilot,” but eventually saves the day (of course).

The special effects and holography are incredibly cool, although sometimes gross (of course). However, the 3D enhances squat! (I always feel like I’ve been given the wrong pair of glasses. What a ripoff gimmick!) You could be just as awed, intrigued, or repulsed with 2D viewing.

That said, this scifi movie is full of good, bad, and ugly things, scary and exciting things. The you’ve-got-to-be-kidding-me ending puts a definitive kibosh on a sequel by director Ridley Scott (“Alien,” “Thelma and Louise,” Gladiator,” “American Gangster,” etc.).

Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Movie Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

