Cold Peach Mousse

In going through my cookbooks for something light and refreshing (besides pineapple sherbert or cold watermelon), I came upon a cold cherry mousse that I converted into a cold peach mousse. ‘Tis the season for fresh peaches, so why not use them in as many ways as possible while they last…

Recipe of the Week: Cold Peach Mousse

1 envelope whipped topping mix
1/2 c. skim milk
1/2 tsp. pure vanilla extract
2 envelopes unflavored gelatin
1/2 c. sugar
1/2 c. cold water
3 c. fresh peaches, peeled, sliced/chunked, and divided (about 5 large or 8 med. peaches)
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
1 tbs. fresh lemon juice
1/2 tsp. pure almond extract
3/4 c. Amaretto Sauce

Directions:
1. Prepare whipped topping according to package directions using milk and vanilla; set aside. Combine gelatin, cinnamon, and sugar in small saucepan; stir in water. Let stand 5 minutes to soften. Heat over low heat until gelatin is completely dissolved. Cool to room temperature.
2. Peel and slice half of the peaches. Place in a blender with lemon juice, almond extract, and gelatin mixture; process until blended. Fold this into the whipped topping until no streaks of white show. Pour mixture into a ring mold or Bundt pan. Refriderate 4 hours or overnight.
3. Before serving, peel and cut into quarter chunks the remaining peaches. Put a large serving plate over the cold mousse and carefully turn it upside down, releasing it from the mold. Spoon the peach quarters into the center of the mousse. Drizzle with Amaretto Sauce and a sprig of mint (optional).

Amaretto Sauce: 3/4 c. frozen vanilla yogurt, melted then cooled. Stir in 4-1/2 tsp. amaretto liqueur until well blended and drizzle over mousse and peaches.

Options: Experiment with various fruits, extracts, and liqueurs.

*****

Thought of the Week: I’m becoming very peeved by neighborhood deer. The plethora of the whitetail fauna within New Braunfels’ city limits may delight the tourists, who will stop and take pictures of the passive creatures; however, living with them is no picnic. This week they ate my lantana, blue plumbago, pothos leaves, and some other “deer resistant” plants in the front yard. The blue plumbago was in a big  pot, which I had put next to stinky rosemary as a deterrent. Hah! The pothos was hanging from our front porch eave and they had the audacity to pull on it, so that it fell upside down onto the cement. T.I.C.K.E.D. me off!!! I moved it and the plumbago to the safety of the backyard…As for the frontyard, I’m off to TSC for some coyote piss. (I do not want to know how they make that.)

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Recipe and Thought for the Week and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

