Banana and Frozen Yogurt Sundae

After months of being good and sticking to our low-fat, low-sodium, low-sugar diet, we deserved a reward. A baaaaad reward, such as this four-million calorie dessert idea from decadent Taste of Home. I modified it by using frozen yogurt instead of ice cream, Land O’ Lakes buttery spread instead of butter, and dark chocolate syrup instead of fudge. The only drawback is the need to freeze and refreeze, so it’s something you can make the day before a party or festivity.

Recipe of the Week: Banana and Frozen Yogurt Sundae

1 pkg. (12 oz.) vanilla wafers, crushed
1/2 c. Land O’ Lakes Fresh Buttery Spread, melted
2 tbs. sugar (optional)
6 c. chocolate chip frozen yogurt, softened
4 large, firm bananas, sliced
6 c. cherry vanilla frozen yogurt, softened
2 c. dark chocolate syrup, divided
2 tbs. unflavored gelatin powder
Maraschino cherries

Directions:
1. In small bowl, combine wafer crumbs, butter spread, and sugar. Press onto bottom of 13″ x 9″ pan and freeze for 15 minutes.
2. Spread chocolate chip yogurt over crust. Mix the gelatin with 1 cup of the syrup, then layer the yogurt with bananas and syrup. Cover and freeze for at least 30 minutes.
3. Spread cherry vanilla yogurt evenly over topping. Cover and freeze for 6 hours or overnight.
4. Remove from freezer 10 minutes before cutting. Drizzle remaining syrup over each portion and top with cherry.

*****

Thought of the Week: Do you remember my post on May 11th about our elation with finding Danny’s Talking Rain Sparkling Mountain Spring Water at Costco again? Well, we were and we did. However, today, I went to replace the seven cases he has gone through in this sweltering heat only to discover that it has vanished again! TICKED ME OFF!!! I went to the Olympia Parkway location and the 281/1604 location in San Antonio and spoke to stockers at both stores. They had no idea what I was talking about, only showing me the other Talking Rain product they carried, which was not the right stuff. On my way out, I dropped pleas for restocking the stuff in each suggestion box. Come on Costco, give us a break!

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Recipe and Thought for the Week and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

