WHISPER TO THE BLOOD

Having taken a three-year hiatus from Dana Stabenow’s Kate Shugak mysteries, I picked up her 2009 WHISPER TO THE BLOOD at the library.  To my great pleasure, I did not want to put it down. I was delightfully surprised by its fluidity and snap, as though it had been written in one sitting – everything flowing easily without hesitation. For me, this sixteenth book is one of Ms. Stabenow’s best. I can’t wait to read more…

Kate Shugak is an Aleut private investigator inside Alaska’s largest national park around the town of Niniltna. Her services are hired by individuals, the park service, and the police. The Kanuyaq River freezes over in fall/winter and becomes a fairly safe and smooth road for all vehicles. But this particular season, several people hauling months’ worth of supplies are being ambushed, attacked, and robbed by three bandits on snowmobiles.

While this is occurring, an even bigger problem is happening in part of the park – gold mining. Some residents are for the jobs and money it will give them, while the ecologists and Aleuts are greatly against it. Kate, much at home on sled and out of doors, reluctantly becomes the chairman of the Niniltna Native Association, which the mining conglomerate has to appease and pay for use of their land.

As if this is not enough for tough and independent Kate to handle, two murders require her expert investigating. Kate’s life has never been more complicated, as she is now the acting mother of her dead lover’s teenage son, a duty she has grown to love…There is so much more to WHISPER TO THE BLOOD, but I don’t want to ruin it for you mystery buffs. I just want you to make it one of your summer’s reads. It may even cool you off a little. 🙂

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

