Mandarin Sesame Chicken Salad

A sweltering summer requires as many refreshing recipes as possible. Not wanting to heat up the kitchen and further tax the A/C, has me searching high and low, hither and yon for entrees, side dishes, and desserts that will make the chore of eating pleasurable. This is what I’m fixing tonight…

Recipe of the Week: Mandarin Sesame Chicken Salad

1 c. shredded red cabbage
1 c. shredded green cabbage
1 jar/can Mandarin oranges, drained (or 2 small Clementine oranges, peeled
and sectioned)
1/2 c. crisp wontons
1/3 c. red bell pepper, diced
1/4 c. small green onions, diced
1/3 c. sesame dressing
1/4 c. toasted almond slices
1 c. leftover chicken, cubed
2 tbs. sesame oil

Directions:
1. In medium to large bowl or casserole dish, mix together cabbage, oranges, red pepper, onions, and dressing; cover and chill in fridge for at least an hour.
2. In skillet, add sesame oil and heat on medium before adding leftover chicken cubes. Brown well, then remove to a paper towel and cool to room temperature.
3. Add chicken to the salad and toss. Top with wontons and almonds and serve.

*****

Thought of the Week: Feet…It’s summertime. There are lots of bare feet and bared toes, especially mine. However, I have never been fond of my feet; they are too long to be the endings for my skinny legs. They were a pretty good asset in competitive swimming, though. :-). And I am glad that I have short toes, unlike one of my sisters. The little toe on my right foot is easily dislocated, but I just pop it back in place without a fuss. My left foot is slightly longer than my right, so it is the one on which I try shoes. When my feet are hot, I’m hot. When they’re cold, I’m cold. For the next couple months, I’ll be playing golf in sturdy sandals to keep from getting more overheated. But, when at home, my feet are bare and unadorned.

[Sorry, but I could not get this post done any sooner. Have a super weekend!]

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Recipe and Thought for the Week and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mandarin Sesame Chicken Salad

  1. asterisk * photography says:

    Yum! The recipe, not your feet 😉 Kim*

    http://www.100days100ways.wordpress.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

