Time Is on My Mind

*It rained most of yesterday, which hasn’t happened for about two years. When I was young, rainy days used to be for reading and lazing about, but yesterday I found myself unable to relax. At the end of the day I realized that I felt guilty for wanting to read and nap all day. Even though I wrote, cleaned, purged built-up stacks of paperwork, and transcribed some dictation, I only allowed myself to read a little here and there. What a drag! I’ve become my mother – I putter – even on a perfectly good and gloomy, rainy day.

*Another year is half gone and so little has changed. We are in a rut due to the economy. Eating out and movies are all we can afford to do, all Danny has time to do, actually. In a tourist destination, like New Braunfels, there is plenty of traffic to remind us that some people are having fun and getting away from it all. That would be nice.

*Some days I have been able to write for several hours without interruption, which thrills me. I look up at the clock and am surprised by the time. My stomach reminds me that I haven’t eaten yet. (My ergonomic keyboard.)

*The other day I took the time to buy a new vacuum cleaner. (Why does vacuum have one “c” and two “u”s? Why couldn’t it be spelled vaccume?) I went to Sears and studied their offerings for a half-hour, asking questions and trying them out. Fully intending to buy an innovative, bagless Dyson, I was surprised by its flimsy bottom. I thought the thin plastic might break if I was too rough with it. The warranty was only for five years, and the saleswoman said it was constantly being brought in for repairs. Forget that! The Kenmore Intuition bagless vacuum was too heavy. My choice turned out to be the old standard – a Hoover upright. It felt much sturdier than the Dyson but was lighter. Though it requires a bag, the saleswoman informed me that hotel cleaning services preferred this machine. Besides having a 6-year warranty, this model comes with a portable canister for cleaning corners, window blinds, and ceiling fans. Sold! Works great and saves me time by replacing the broom and dust mop for tile.

*Time is always there. No matter what you do or say, think or feel, dream or plan, time goes on, making us virtually irrelevant. You cannot go back and it does not stop. Man invented calendars and clocks to keep track of time, but time existed before we were here and will continue on and on and on to the end of space. Then what? It falls over the side like a waterfall? I don’t think so.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

