Frozen Ambrosia Parfaits

Dadgummit, if it isn’t Friday again! Time sure speeds by, except when I’m waiting in a doctor’s office or a grocery line. Hardly have time to breathe, let alone get caught up or relax. Wellll, this tasty treat will tease your mouth, curl your toes, and make you purrrrr…

Recipe of the Week: Frozen Ambrosia Parfaits

1/2 gal. frozen low-fat vanilla yogurt
15-oz. can crushed pineapple in unsweetened juice, drained
1 large or 2 medium bananas, sliced
1/2 c.  flaked coconut, toasted
1-1/2 c. organic strawberries, rinsed and sliced

Directions:
1. Toast coconut in nonstick skillet and set aside.
2. Spoon 1/3 c. frozen yogurt into each parfait glass.  Cover with some banana slices and a couple spoonfuls of crushed pineapple.
3. Add another layer of 1/3 c. frozen yogurt, more bananas and pineapple, and some strawberries. Sprinkle with toasted coconut and serve.

Options: 1)Slice some in-season juicy peaches and add to first layer. 2)Use frozen yogurt with fruit instead of the vanilla yogurt.

*****

Thought of the Week: The bloomin’ sage is everywhere, thanks to the recent rains. I can almost forget how hot it is.

Pride of Barbados and lantanas also seem to like the nourishing rain. Hose water keeps them from drying out, but rain makes them happy.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Recipe and Thought for the Week and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

