STILL

Did you read this: mississppi-church ? A Baptist church in Mississippi refused to marry a black couple. Prejudice is alive and unwell; people are still sick in the head and cold in heart.

It is incredibly disappointing that these illogical attitudes blatantly continue to exist in 2012. For heaven’s sake, what would Jesus do? He probably has a major headache from shaking his head so much and feeling so sad all the time – still! The people of this Mississippi Baptist church, and all others like it, have no clue. They still live in a pathetic world of historic bigotry and false superiority.

Religious freedom – B.S.! Religion was made up by mankind to make people feel better and to give them hope and comfort, to keep them in line and guide them through bad times. Every organized religion around the world purports to having a supreme being at its core, but is obviously incapable of understanding that God is one and the same everywhere in the universe. Men have pressed their puny thumbprints and prejudiced ideas into their “faith,” regaling that only theirs is the best. What a crock!

I was baptized and raised a Methodist and loved the hymns we sang, but with the brains God gave me I began to wonder why religions were so different. I could not understand why the people in other churches did not get along with everybody else or even each other. Isn’t that what Jesus taught? I had no trouble taking to heart that He/She loves us all and that we should be kind to everyone, so I questioned why religious organizations had a problem with thinking outside each denominational box. The answers I received or observed were either anger, scorn, or pity.

Shame on this Mississippi church, others like it, and all prejudiced, narrow-minded people around the world, especially those who harm and degrade anyone – still.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealogy, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 19 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

