Honey Dijon Chicken Tenders

Here is a quick entree, no cutting or defatting required. Even Danny, a dark meat man, wished I had cooked more. The occasion was dinner for oldest son, daughter-in-law, and granddaughters (4 and almost 2). With the kiddos underfoot I needed something that did not require a lot of attention.

Recipe of the Week: Honey Dijon Chicken Tenders

2 pkg. organic chicken tenders
3 tbs. olive oil
2 c. Panko bread crumbs
1/4 c. corn flake crumbs
couple shakes each: salt, garlic powder, pepper, Cajun Seasoning

Directions:
1. In medium bowl or baking dish, stir together all dry ingredients.
2. In large non-stick skillet, add olive oil and coat bottom. Turn  heat to medium.
3. Coat chicken strips in dry batter and cook until both sides are crispy brown. Occasionally, shaking the pan back and forth on the burner to keep the oil even and prevent sticking.
4. Squirt or dribble Honey Dijon Dressing onto the strips, lower heat, cover, and simmer for 5 minutes to moisten meat.

Note: For four adults, I used 1-1/2 pkgs. of tenders and froze the rest. Also, I cooked these last, after everything else (mashed potatoes, corn, green salad, and fruit salad) was ready.

*****

Thought of the Week: We have been enjoying the heck out of this first week of the Olympics. Being a former competitive swimmer, I have been as glued as possible to the swimming and diving events. But the volleyball and gymnastics have been exciting and riveting as well. All of the Olympian athletes have such extraordinary skills and/or strength. World records in swimming have been broken in many events  – amazing. There is so much to see simultaneously that were we to have satellite coverage and several televisions side by side with multiple screen images, my brain would overload and fizzle out. Congratulations to all the medalists so far and to those who did not medal, congratulations as well – you are top-notch by qualifying for the Olympics! That is an exceptional feat in itself!

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealogy, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 19 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Recipe and Thought for the Week and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

