Creamy Chicken and Chile Enchiladas

I have stopped despairing and decided that this hot summer is never going to end. So to thumb my nose at the heat, I turned on the oven for this Mexican recipe…

Recipe of the Week: Creamy Chicken and Chile Enchiladas

1 lb. uncooked chicken breast strips (or frozen grilled strips), cut into bites
1 pkg. (8 oz.) lite cream cheese, cut into cubes
1 can (4.5 oz.) chopped/diced green chiles
1 pkg. (10.5 oz.) 6″ flour tortillas
2 cans (10 oz. each) Old El Paso Enchilada Sauce
3/4 c. shredded Queso Oaxaca cheese (lower in sodium and fat)

Directions: Heat oven to 400 F. (Turn on stove fan.)
1. In 10″ nonstick skillet, cook chicken over med. high heat, stirring occasionally until no longer pink. (If using frozen strips, cube and then thaw in microwave before adding to skillet.)
2. Add cream cheese and chiles; reduce heat to medium. Cook and stir until blended and cream cheese is melted.
3. Spoon chicken filling onto tortillas, roll up and place seam side down in slightly greased baking dish. Pour enchilada sauce over top and sprinkle with cheese.
4. Bake 15-20 minutes or until hot and cheese has melted. Serve with Mexican rice and beans or salad.

*****

Thought of the Week: There were several news articles that agitated me this week, so I concentrated on enjoying the grandchildren. Much to my surprise, the boys wanted to go to thrift stores for books and spy clothes. They used Duplo blocks to make pistols and machine guns, which their mouths supplied with sounds.

Aside from that, the days were filled with drawing, DVDs, computer games, and swimming.

After swimming for nearly an hour, they found bugs in the filters more fun.

(Once again, like the recipe photos, I find myself too absorbed in the kids’ actions to remember to take enough pictures. Half the time I’m laughing so hard or am right in the thick of things that what the camera manages to capture is unrecognizable.)

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Recipe and Thought for the Week and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

