Not Just a Birthday

When the phone rang in our California home on 9/11/2001, I answered it with a smile. Caller ID said it was my mother and she was going to be the first one to wish me a happy birthday. But after my hello, she said tearfully, “Turn on the television. It’s awful. Just turn it on,” and hung up. My smile vanished and we instantly clicked the remote.

It was 6:20 a.m. PST, and we watched in horror at the hell happening in New York City. We learned what terrorists had done and were doing to us, to AMERICA. We were stunned as the North Tower collapsed minutes later. It was surreal, like sci-fi, but it wasn’t a movie. Thousands of people were instantly dead, dying, injured, and dazed. Tears streamed down my face, my heart was breaking, and I was thinking: “Those *!$%!#* Middle East assholes!” over and over again. Instant hate swelled within me.

The TV remained on throughout the day, more devastating news, more tragedy unfolding with the other planes, the heroism, the rescuers, and the drawing together of this country in mourning and outrage. Nothing mattered but helping in whatever way possible.

And yet, life did go on: babies were born on this tragic day, a day that will be linked for a very long time with terrorism. But today, in this year 2012, we have more to celebrate than all the September 11th birthdays. We can finally HOORAY! the good riddance of the “man” who planned the 9/11 attacks – the pathetic coward who sat in a cave far away from danger. Great present! Thank you, Navy Seals!

(courtesy of clker.com)

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

