Breakfast Burrito

Flour tortillas have come a long way from the lard using days, thank goodness. Mission Foods Corporation calls them wraps, but they’ll always be tortillas to me. Besides the Jalapeno Cheddar ones I now use for chicken quesadillas, they also make Dried Tomator Basil, Lite, Garden Spinach Herb, Whole Wheat, Chile Herb, Garlic Herb, Chipotle Chile, Garden Vegetable, and Multi-Grain. The possibilities are endless for breakfast, lunch, and dinner…The recipe below is per person. I put it together one morning after being tired of cereal.

Recipe of the Week: Jalapeno Cheddar Breakfast Burrito

1 single Mission Jalapeno Cheddar Wrap
1/2 c. Eggbeaters Southwestern Style
1-1/2 c. frozen O’Brien style hashbrowns
1 tbs. olive oil
salt and pepper to taste

Directions:
1. Warm nonstick skillet on medium heat, add oil and hashbrowns. Sprinkle with pepper and salt.
2. Stir as they thaw and brown, 10 to 15 minutes.
3. Add eggbeaters and stir in with potatoes until fluffy, about 3 minutes.
4. Turn off heat and place tortilla/wrap atop the mixture to warm for 30 seconds.
5. Place wrap on plate, fill with mixture, fold, and eat.

Note: If you don’t feel lazy, you can always dice your own potatoes, onions, and peppers. Also, if you don’t like eggbeaters, just use two eggs – but whip them together with a dab of milk before putting them in the skillet.

*****

Thought of the Week: Planning…I turned 65 this week, well past party age, but my family refused to leave me be. Fourteen of us arranged to meet at the new Bonzai Steakhouse, but after looking online at the expensive menu, we reconsidered. A good alternative seemed to be the Phoenix Saloon, which had a good menu and allowed minors until 9pm, so we alerted all but one to the change. However, as we began to gather, the waitress said the kitchen was closed for repairs, which had not been mentioned online or in their phone message. Soooo we quickly re-celled those who were on their way to detour to our old standby – Pat’s Place. Third time was a charm! We had a room to ourselves without the noise of strangers or loud music to bother Mom. When the food arrived, nothing was put in front of me. My order had not been entered into the computer by the trainee and, when I repeated my order, I was told they had ran out of the meatloaf special. The experienced waitress apologized profusely, saying my meal would be free, and my family was very sympathetic, but I was okay. When my hot plate of catfish, green beans, and hushpuppies was served, the others were finishing up. The four kids had arranged their chairs at the windows to watch a group of women exercising and romping around in a spa parking lot across the street – free entertainment for all. 🙂

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealogy, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 19 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Recipe and Thought for the Week and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Breakfast Burrito

  1. Kelli says:

    Happy Belated Birthday! Hope everyone is doing great!

    Like

Leave a Reply

