Feta Chicken Salad

I love salads! They make me feel like I’m doing something healthy for my body. When they taste good, too, that’s even better. 🙂 This is a great one for lunch, dinner, or a baby shower.

Recipe of the Week: Feta Chicken Salad

1/2 c. yogurt ranch dressing, divided
1-1/4 c. plain panko breadcrumbs
1/2 tsp. salt or salt substitute
1/4 tsp. fresh black pepper
4 tbs. extra virgin olive oil, divided
1-1/2 lb. chicken cutlets/tenders
12 c. (8 oz.) mixed salad greens
1 pint mixed cherry and grape tomatoes, slice larger ones in half
4 oz. crumbled feta or blue cheese

Directions:
1. Pour 1/4 c. dressing into pie pan. Pour breadcrumbs into another pie pan.
2. Sprinkle cutlets all over with salt and pepper. Toss cutlets in dressing to coat, then roll in breadcrumbs.
3. In large nonstick skillet, heat 2 tbs. olive oil over medium heat. Cook half of the cutlets, turning until browned and cooked through (3 to 4 minutes). Remove from skillet to paper towel. Repeat with rest of olive oil and remaining cutlets. Then cut chicken into 2″ pieces.
4. In large bowl, toss greens, tomatoes, and cheese with the remaining 1/4 c. dressing.
5. Place salad on 4 serving plates. Top with chicken and serve extra dressing on the side.

Note: Depending on number of servings required, double or triple ingredients.

*****

Thought of the Week: Clutter…I’m drowning in a sea of paper; my office has become totally cluttered, again. First, after notes, notebooks, and pages overwhelmed my desk, I put up a card table onto which I transferred the piles of papers. Then, I had a clean desk, but the mess atop the temporary solution was not disappearing by itself. So, one day I took the time to file and purge until only had one small pile remained and could breath more easily. But now, the mess has too soon returned and is driving me crazy.

I know exactly how it happened, though – writing! No wonder all the offices of authors and journalists I’ve seen in interviews and movies are stacked with papers and books. It’s inevitable! We get into the groove, which grows deeper as stuff piles around us. After cursory glances at mail for bills, we stack the rest for later review. We print out pages of online research and put them on a pile for later reference. Phone calls, errands, chores, meals, and family distract us so that we’re antsy to get back to writing, and the piles begin to transform into unstable columns that threaten to fall to the floor and become all mixed together and…oh, no…I can feel the worms of responsibility inching into my brain, filling heretofore open passageways with goop. If I don’t unclutter the mess soon, I won’t be able to get out of this chair. Aaahhhh…

(courtesy of Veronica Platt)

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealogy, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 19 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Recipe and Thought for the Week and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Feta Chicken Salad

  1. mskatykins says:

    Fabulous post! The salad sounds delicious and I like the idea of posting a recipe, yum! I was doing that a while back and was supposed to continue (it was an Indian theme) but time has just slipped right through my fingers! 🙂

    Can totally relate to the piles… Great to see your mind is obviously filled to the brim with creative ideas! Fab! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

