Lemon Pineapple Bundt Cake

Last night, we had a dual birthday dinner for oldest son, Jud, and his wife, Amy. They each requested different entrees (chicken fried steak and chilis rellenos). For dessert, Jud wanted a lemon bundt cake, so I baked one with a bit of filling.

Recipe of the Week: Lemon Pineapple Bundt Cake

lemon cake mix
1 large can crushed pineapple, thoroughly drained
1/4 c. brown sugar
sprinkling of powdered sugar

Directions: Preheat oven to 350F and spray dark-coated bundt pan with baking Pam.
1. Prepare cake mix per package directions. Pour half of cake batter into bundt pan.
2. Evenly sprinkle brown sugar (use more if necessary) onto batter. then fork drained pineapple on top of brown sugar.
3. Pour remaining batter over pineapple and bake for 40 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.
4. Remove from oven and let cool for five minutes. Place a large platter upside down on top of bundt pan. Protecting your hands, turn bundt pan and plate upside down together and set on counter or cooling rack. The cake will probably plop down, but you don’t have to remove the pan right away.
5. Before serving, sprinkle cake with powdered sugar.

*****

Thought of the Week: The things we do for love…We are blessed with a huge family and most of them live nearby. Gatherings are frequent and rarely small. Unless we meet at a restaurant, the hostess does most of the planning and cooking. Occasionally, it will be a potluck meal, but even so, whomever’s home we’re at, there is much preparation to be done and tons of cleanup afterwards…Yesterday, after spending more than twelve hours cleaning, baking, last-minute grocery shopping, transporting family, and cooking for eight, I had no energy left to do the dishes. Danny offered to help as usual, but the kitchen is my domain. Soooo, I quickly rinsed, stacked, and left them for this morning.

Although Danny professes to know his way around a kitchen, just because he was a busboy/dishwasher as a teenager, he does not stack dishes in the dishwasher or wash/stack them in the counter rack the same way I have perfected. 🙂 A couple times a year, however, he assesses my weariness and overrides my wishes, which is one of the many reasons I love him dearly.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Recipe and Thought for the Week and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Lemon Pineapple Bundt Cake

  1. mskatykins says:

    Sounds like a great night! 🙂 Lovely photos and very nice of you to make two different main meals! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

