Almond Chicken with Apricot Sauce

My sister Leslie turned me onto TASTE OF HOME magazine way back when. I was a devout recipe user until I realized that their recipes were totally devoted to taste and had no respect for diligent watchers of weight. 🙂 However, last week I bought an issue and put it with my cookbooks. Yesterday morning, as I began going through the recipes for this post, I became really hungry, even though I had just eaten a bowl of Cheerios with organic blueberries and raspberries. The TOH recipes had morphed with the times into more low-sodium and low-fat ones, which thrilled me no end. Thanks to Erma Yoder of Millersburg, IN, here’s what we’re having for dinner tonight…

Recipe of the Week: Almond Chicken with Apricot Sauce

1 c. spreadable apricot preserves
3 tbs. low-sodium soy sauce
2 tbs. finely chopped onion
4 tsp. cider vinegar
1 tsp. ground mustard
6 boneless, skinless chicken breast halves (6 oz. each)
1/2 c. sliced almonds
1 tbs. butter, melted

Directions: Preheat oven to 350F. Coat 13″ x 9″ baking dish with cooking spray.
1. In a shallow bowl, combine the first five ingredients; transfer 1/2 c. to a serving bowl and set aside. Dip chicken in remaining apricot mixture and place in baking dish.
2. Sprinkle almonds over chicken and drizzle with butter. Bake, uncovered, for 30-35 minutes, or until meat thermometer reads 170 degrees.
3. Serve with the reserved apricot sauce. I’ll be side-dishing it with garlic mashed potatoes and a salad. Yum.

*****

Thought of the Week: I’m not competitive to the point of stressing out over a card or croquet game, but watching my four-year-old granddaughter play soccer just about makes me race onto the pint-sized field to help. Though the kids understand the aim of the game is to make a goal, they have not grasped the concept of going after the ball or which way to kick it. In quick succession, one of her teammates made two goals for the opposing team, even though there’s no official scorekeeping. Most of the little cuties are happy to just run around, while a few look everywhere but at the ball, wave to their family, or drag their butts on the mini field. 😦 Competition is something learned; therefore, I have to remember that, for the time being, fun is the name of their game.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealogy, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 19 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Recipe and Thought for the Week and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

