Healthy Banana Bread

It was 90 humid degrees, again, on Wednesday, but the forecasters promised that would be it until spring. I hope so, because I don’t like being teased by Mother Nature. Anyway, as long as it’s cool, I can begin to contemplate using the oven more.

Recipe of the Week: Healthy Banana Bread

1-1/2 c. whole wheat flour
2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. salt (optional)
1/2 c. unsweetened shredded coconut
1 c. mashed ripe or overripe bananas
3 tbs. veg. oil
2 tbs. honey

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350F. Coat 8″x4″ loaf pan with nonfat spray.
2. In bowl, combine flour, coconut, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. In another bowl, combine banana, oil, and honey.
3. Stir banana mixture into dry ingredients until just combined; do not overmix. Batter should be lumpy.
4. Spread batter in pan and bake until toothpick comes out clean, 45-50 minutes. Cool in pan 10 minutes; then cool completely on rack or serve warm with your choice of spread. (Just a wee bit of butter on hot bread is soooo yummy.)

Note: With gift giving in mind, double or triple the recipe for multiple pans.


Kind of cool that something so rotten looking can be useful…

*****

Thought of the Week: Boy Scouts of America…A couple months ago, the BSA announced it would not accept children of same sex unions. Yesterday, on the news, decades of pedophilia by scout masters and other volunteers across the country was announced. boy-scouts-of-america-molestation Right now, I have rage in my heart for this despicable irony and immense sadness for the victims. Too many MEN cannot be trusted with boys – neither priests nor coaches nor scout masters. Burn them at the stake!

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Recipe and Thought for the Week and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

