Cranberry Apricot Sauce

At least twenty family members will be at our house for Thanksgiving this year. My part is the turkey, potatoes, appetizer, and a pie. Since I’m tired of the same-o, same-o dishes, I’m asking the ladies to bring something different. Also, the other day I bought two holiday magazines and started going through them for inspiring ideas. And, boy, did I find some whoppers! I almost feel like cooking everything myself and surprising everybody with new family favorites. Here is the first recipe that enticed my palate, courtesy of Southern Living

Recipe of the Week: Cranberry Apricot Sauce

1 c. sugar (or 1/2 c. Truvia)
1/2 c. fresh orange juice
1 tbs. red wine vinegar
2 fresh ginger slices, 1/4″ thick
1 cinnamon stick, 3″
4 c. fresh or frozen cranberries
1/2 c. chopped dried apricots

Directions:
1. Bring first 5 ingredients to a boil in a medium saucepan over med.-high heat, stirring until sugar dissolves. Stir in cranberries and apricots, and return to a boil. Reduce heat to med.-low; simmer, stirring occasionally, 10-15 minutes or until berries begin to split and mixture begins to thicken.
2. Remove from heat; cool 30 minutes. Discard cinnamon and ginger. Pour into a 3-cup mold; cover and chill 8 hours or until set. (If you don’t have a mold, a pretty bowl will do.)

(Photo: Iain Bagwell; Styling: Heather Chadduck)

***

Thought of the Week: Horrendous havoc tormented the east coast as Sandy moved up the shoreline from the Carolinas to punch New York City, New Jersey, Long Island, Staten Island (deadliest-zone), and Connecticut. President Obama declared New York and New Jersey disaster areas almost before Governors Christie and  Cuomo asked. The megastorm and its predictable devastation warranted such unprecedented quick response…While most of the country’s doorbells were rung by trick-or-treaters on Wednesday night, millions of east coasters’ doorbells could not ring. Halloween was canceled, 94 people have been killed (so far), and nearly fifty N.Y.C. babies defied the chaos and came into the world.

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Recipe and Thought for the Week and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cranberry Apricot Sauce

  1. jmmcdowell says:

    I enjoy real cranberry sauces like this. Having grown up with the canned version (and avoiding it as much as possible), I was shocked when I found out how good “the real stuff” is.

    Like

Leave a Reply

