Noodles Romanoff

During the 80’s, I constantly relied on casseroles for feeding our growing children. One of their favorites was Betty Crocker’s Noodles Romanoff, to which I added a can of Golden Mushroom soup. Yesterday, my grown daughter requested that particular entree for her birthday; however, it had been discontinued years ago. Through an online search, I discovered I wasn’t the only one who wished Betty Crocker hadn’t decided to icksnay that boxed meal, and I was able to recreate, albeit somewhat weirdly, the tasty recipe. Although it had been twenty years, Merideth said it was just like she remembered…

Recipe of the Week: Noodles Romanoff

1 lb. natural Angus ground beef
1/4 c. diced onion
1 tbs. olive oil
1 can of Campbell’s Golden Mushroom soup
1 pkg. small egg noodles
1 pkg. three-cheese macaroni and cheese
1/8 tsp. garlic powder
1/4 tsp. onion powder
1/8 tsp. pepper
2 tbs. margarine or lite butter
1/2 c. lite sour cream
1/2 c. Half-n-Half
6 slices of 2% American cheese

Directions: Preheat oven to 350F.
1. Add noodles to pot of boiling water.
2. Brown meat in skillet with olive oil and diced onion; add dashes of salt, pepper, and garlic powder. Drain. Add soup and stir. Cover but do not cook anymore.
3. Drain noodles when ready and mix with butter. Add powdered cheese packet from macaroni/cheese box, garlic powder, onion powder, pepper, sour cream, and the Half ‘n’ Half to pan and mix thoroughly.
4. In large bowl or casserole dish, combine noodle and meat mixtures and stir together. Top with layer of cheese slices and bake for 20-30 minutes or until cheese begins to brown.
5. Serve with salad and crescent rolls.

Options: 1) For a change, mix in some frozen corn before topping with cheese. 2) You might be able to find some powdered cheese packets without buying the macaroni, but our store didn’t have any. (Save the pasta from the box for another meal, like Italian sausage soup. 🙂 )

***

Thought of the Week: Woohoo, we have had sweater weather all week and I love it! However, the downside is low humidity. Besides getting statically electrified all the time, my hands are protesting mightily by drying out. I can’t seem to apply enough lotion or cream to keep them from rasping. I’ve even tried Vaseline at night. Nivea, Gold Bond, St. Ives, Aveeno, Curel, Neutrogena, Eucerin, and Lubriderm have let me down this year for some reason, but I refuse to believe it’s my aging skin rather than the lotions’ fault! 🙂

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Recipe and Thought for the Week and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

