Easy Skillet Dinner

With days of Thanksgiving cooking behind me, I can concentrate once again on quick and easy recipes. While cooler weather gives me a keen interest in baking cookies and pies, I’m not very interested in preparing dinner. Therefore, besides leftovers, the following fast meal suits me just fine…

Recipe of the Week: Skillet Chicken and Spinach

2 chicken breasts or 6 chicken tenders
2 tbs. lemon juice
1 tbs. chili flakes
2 tbs. olive oil
1 tbs. lite butter or Land O Lakes Fresh Buttery Taste Spread
1 tsp. minced garlic
1 small bundle of green onions, diced up to the green part
1/2 c. chick peas
1 large package of baby spinach

Directions:
1. In a bowl or bag, marinate chicken in lemon juice and chili flakes, while you get other ingredients together.
2. In large skillet with a lid, heat oil and butter on med. heat. Remove chicken and tenderize. Add to skillet, along with onion and garlic; cook for a few minutes.
3. Add chick peas and then spinach atop chicken, cover. When reduced, add sprinkle of lemon juice and stir together.
4. Serve with bread and/or fruit.

***

Thought of the Week: My mind and heart were in turmoil this week. Actually, I began turmoiling when I first sent out Thanksgiving invitations, because a part of me wanted to invite a former next door neighbor. (I’ll refer to her as “Sue.”) For several years, I have helped Sue with groceries and fuel, taken her to lunch, and eventually, a few months ago, was able to persuade and help her to unhoard and organize her one-bedroom home. For decades, she has had mental and physical difficulties and the medications she takes make her sweat and shake, but she is very sweet, artistic, and smart. This was the first year I considered inviting her for Thanksgiving, because her father is now in a nursing home with Alzheimer’s disease, and she is not welcomed at her brother’s. Never having married, she is pretty much alone in the world, which breaks my heart. However, my mother is in ailing health, as well, and has become more and more intolerant of strangers with every passing year. Therefore, since I did not want to subject Sue’s weak psyche to my mother’s negativity and caustic attitude, I reluctantly refrained from offering her a seat at our table. Yesterday afternoon, as the twelve of us were saying grace and being thankful, I felt very much like a hypocrite…What would you have done?

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealogy, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 19 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Recipe and Thought for the Week and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Easy Skillet Dinner

  1. sybaritica says:

    Sounds very nice indeed!

    Like

  2. mskatykins says:

    What a wonderful photograph. 🙂

    I think it’s a difficult one, Cyranette. These occasions should be about people coming together, and it would have been lovely of you to ask her. I think you’re reasons for not asking her, in the end, were probably right because you didn’t want anyone to have a bad time. Why not ask her round for tea or something this week so that you can have some nice time together. That way she knows she’s still important to you. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

