No-Bake Cookies

Tomorrow is December 1st, time to think about putting up a tree, decorating the house, and getting into cookie-making mode…A couple weeks ago, I found a not-so-old Christmas cookie book (1997 ed.) while antiquing in Boerne. I eagerly went through it and merrily tagged all the recipes I wanted to use. Since I cannot possibly give firemen, policemen, bank tellers, postal workers, and my bachelor brother-in-law untried treats, I feel duty bound to sample them first. 🙂 The following quick cookie recipe is a little different than the no-bake one I usually use.

Recipe of the Week: Chocolate-Peanut Butter Cookies

1/2 c. milk
1/2 stick of butter
2 c. sugar (or 1 c. Truvia)
3 tbs. unsweetened cocoa powder
1/4 tsp. salt
1 tsp. pure vanilla extract
1/2 c. peanut butter
3 c. quick-cooking oats

Directions: In a large saucepan, combine milk, butter, sugar, and cocoa. Bring to a boil and boil for just one minute, stirring contantly.  Add remaining ingredients and blend well. Drop by generous teaspoonfuls onto waxed paper. Let stand until firm and cooled. Can’t get much easier than that! Makes 4 dozen.

100_3923

Thought of the Week: Did you go shopping on Black Friday? (I think it’s just a U.S. greedfest.) Not me. Never have, never will. I don’t like crowds and the tension of trying to find a parking place. In fact, last Friday I didn’t venture out until late afternoon, when we went to the movies. Unfortunately, just as we were leaving our neighborhood, a 9:15 a.m. appointment with the Chrysler/Dodge service department popped into my head. I had been so intent on staying home that I totally forgot about having the van checked out. That’s how much I hate going out on the day after Thanksgiving! Oh well…

black friday 2012

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealogy, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 19 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Recipe and Thought for the Week and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

