Taco Crackers

Unable to help myself, I bought another holiday magazine and tagged a bunch of recipes. In the latest taste of home Food Gifts issue, one simple snack (pg. 23) caught my eyes and taste buds…At our holiday open houses I usually serve the usual Chex Mix, but I’m always open to new ideas and like to surprise people. This finger grabbing treat seems so obvious, I can’t believe I didn’t think of it first. 🙂

Recipe of the Week: Taco Crackers

3 9-oz. pkgs. oyster crackers
3/4 c. canola oil
1 envelope taco seasoning
1/2 tsp. garlic powder
1/2 tsp. dried oregano
1/2  tsp. chili powder

Directions: Preheat oven to 350F.
1. Place crackers in a large roasting pan; drizzle with oil. Combine the seasonings; sprinkle over crackers and toss to coat.
2. Bake 15-20 minutes, stirring once, or until crackers are golden brown.
3. Grab a test handful as soon as they have cooled. oyster crackersThought of the Week: Last Sunday we bought and decorated our Christmas tree. Every year we buy from the same place, because they put their fir trees in water, which helps them stay fresh longer. Once Danny brought it inside, I started opening the bins of ornaments I’ve collected over the years. (I don’t buy any new ones until after the holidays.) To use all the ornaments, we would need at least a 10-ft. tree, which will never happen, so I pick and choose. It’s strange how each year the tree is trimmed differently, depending on its shape. I never know what ornaments I’ll unwrap and use. The only surety is that, as long as we have young grandchildren, the lower couple of feet will be decorated with unbreakable ones.

tree 2 2012

This tree is almost perfectly shaped. To top it, I wanted a lighted topper but couldn’t find one. After checking out several stores to no avail, I wound up improvising and inserted a short string of mini lights into our crystal angel. It turned out exactly like I hoped and Danny gave me a well-done hug. Unfortunately, I’m not a camera whiz, so none of the pics I took of the tree lit up turned out well at all. 😦

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Recipe and Thought for the Week and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Taco Crackers

  1. jenniesisler says:

    The tree looks wonderful and the angel is beautiful even without the lights. My mother puts up four Christmas trees and still has ornaments left over. I’ll definitely try the taco crackers – they sound addictive:)

    Like

    • Cyranette says:

      Wow, that’s a lot of ornaments! My daughter has four trees, too, but they are all artificial with attached lights. Not my cup of tea; I like the smell of real evergreen…Thank you for your comment.

      Like

      • jenniesisler says:

        Well a lot of them are antiques. She uses artificial pre-lit trees too, but the lights failed a few years ago so my dad still has to string lights on two of them. I agree the shape of your tree is perfect – a lovely pine raindrop:)

        Like

Leave a Reply

