Cream Cheese Drops

Due to a wild schedule and crazy happenings, we have eaten out three times this week. Today, I’m making some chicken soup that we can have after the movies this afternoon. Next week, I have designated for cookie baking. Besides three tried-and-true ones (cinnamon oatmeal raisin, Russian tea cakes, and pecan chocolate chip), I’ll be filling the house with new aromas. One of which will be the following…

Recipe of the Week: Cream Cheese Drops

2-1/4 c. unbleached all-purpose flour
1/4 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 tsp. salt
2 sticks butter or margarine, softened to room temperature
1 3-oz. pack cream cheese, softened to room temperature
1 c. sugar (or 1/2 c. Truvia)
1 large egg yolk
1 tsp. Mexican (or organic) vanilla
colored decorating sprinkles

Directions: Preheat oven to 350F.
1. Combine first 3 ingredients and set aside.
2. Cream butter and cream cheese, with mixer on medium, until smooth. Beat in sugar, a little at a time, until light and fluffy. Beat in egg yolk and vanilla.
3. With mixer on low, add flour mixture, a little at a time, until just blended.
4. Insert desired tip into cookie press. Place 1/3 of the dough into press. Press out cookies, 1-1/2 inches apart, onto ungreasead cookie sheets. Sprinkle with colored sugars and bake for 10 to 12 minutes, or until edges are lightly browned.
5. Use spatula to place cookies on wire racks or waxed paper to cool. Makes 60 cookies.

Options: 1) Separate the dough and add a different organic food color to each bowl; 2) Instead of vanilla, use almond, lemon, or coconut extract for a different flavor.

100_3943

Note: I’ve not used a cookie press before, so I have no idea if this first attempt will be my last. Who knows, I may love it! But for this first attempt, I’ll borrow my daughter’s before buying one. She says you can always just roll the dough out and use cookie cutters intead, too.

***

Thoughts of the Week: 1) Can’t wait to see “The Hobbit”! Since I first read it, years and years ago, I had hoped it would be made into a movie. Then, Hollywood produced the Lord of the Rings trilogy first, which we greatly enjoyed. However, with each viewing I kept asking myself, “Where’s The Hobbit?” Now it’s here!…2) Throughout the day and at the end of every day, I pop off whatever shoes I’m wearing and go barefoot whenever I’m home. The shoes end up in the livingroom or in my office or in a pile by the nightstand. I looked at them the other day and wondered, How can people get by with one pair of shoes?

100_3935

Although I have never thought of myself as a shoe fanatic, somehow I have ended up with a couple dozen pairs of them. When I was a child, I only had four pairs: one for school, sneakers for gym, rollerskating, and summer outings, patent leather for church, and some bedtime slippers. When competitive swimming came along, I added a pair of flip-flops. And high school called for high heels and boots. Aging has morphed my footwear into comfortable flats of various colors, necessary hot-weather sandals of various colors, several types of sneakers, two pairs of boots, and lastly one pair of winter slippers. I’m almost ashamed of myself. 🙂

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealogy, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 19 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Recipe and Thought for the Week and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cream Cheese Drops

  1. Pingback: Cream Cheese Drops | Cyranette's Blog

Leave a Reply

