Holiday Happenings

Danny made me cry yesterday by surprising the heck out of me with a Southwest flight card, good for anywhere I want to fly, which for me means visiting much-missed family in California. Woohoo!! (Here is one of them, four-year-old Oliver.)

Oliver 2012 winter

On Christmas Eve, I received a call from son Tyler in California telling me our box to them had not arrived yet. A box full of specially wrapped presents, specially wrapped because we could not be there this year. I had insured and mailed it on December 12th, so I tried checking the tracking number online. For some reason, the number was not in the USPS system. Strange and irritating…I have always had the utmost faith in the postal system, so it never occurred to me that the package would not be delivered. I did not check the tracking number and did not hear to the contrary that their gifts had not arrived before Tyler’s call. This morning I am going to the post office to find out what went wrong. I am praying that the box is just lost and not stolen.

postal service

Yesterday was a different Christmas. Unlike previous years: a) This year’s tree had perfect form but had not stayed fresh, despite attentive care; b) We had a full house with daughter Merideth’s and son Jud’s families – awesome; c) Time at Mom/Dad’s house had been limited, chaos kept to a minimum; and d) The temperature changed from 70 to 40 in a few hours, although that is not unnormal for winter in Texas.

100_0034

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

