Fifteen-Bean and Ham Soup

Okay, I’m officially full and thoroughly sick of eating. I’ve been nibbling for days, ignoring all the holiday snacks and goodies I made. Luckily, the weather took a dive and it’s cold. Great time for nutritious soup, soup that will last a couple days…

Recipe of the Week: Fifteen-Bean and Ham Soup

1 pkg. 15-bean soup mix
1 ham hock or any leftover ham
1 can diced tomatoes
1 small chopped onion
1 tbs. minced garlic or 2 crushed garlic cloves
1 tsp. chili powder
juice of 1 lemon
1 tsp. sea salt
1/2 tsp. ground pepper
dash of paprika

Directions:
1. Rinse beans, then add to 3 quarts of water in dutch oven.
2. Bring to boil, lower heat to medium, cover and cook for 1 hour.
3. Add ham and onions, lower heat, and simmer covered for two hours. (Liquid should just cover ham hock, so add more water if necessary.)
4. Add garlic, tomatoes, seasonings, lemon juice, and flavor packet from pkg. Stir and simmer for another 30-45 minutes. Taste and add more salt or pepper if needed.
5. Serve with cornbread or crackers and a salad.

Options: Use a crockpot and cook on low all day.

100_0052

*****

Thought of the Week: This time next week we will be in a new year and thinking about income tax stuff. Ugh! I’ve said it before and I’m saying it again: Flat Tax. We are a consumer nation; we buy, buy, buy. Therefore, there should be a 10% consumer (individuals, businesses, corporations, nonprofits) tax on almost everything we spend money on, from boxes of toothpicks to $10 million mansions, from entertainment to spas. The only exceptions would be milk, eggs, bread, fresh produce, and prescriptions. With a consumer tax we would be paying year-round rather than having to fork over a lump sum in the spring. No tax forms, no loopholes, no exemptions, no stress, no hassles. Fairness to the max, people!

money

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Recipe and Thought for the Week and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

