Tortilla Soup

Pick a card, any recipe card…Cooking is not magical. However, one ingredient can make all the difference in deliciousness – love. When you love what you’re doing and who you’re cooking for, everything seems to turn out yummy. The only difficulty lies in what to cook on any given day. One of my favorites is a meal in a bowl…

Recipe of the Week: Tortilla Soup

1 large can of organic chicken broth
1 can diced tomatoes with green chilis
1 can Mexican style stewed tomatoes
1 can Mexicorn
1 can black beans, drained
3 c. grilled and/or southwestern chicken strips*
1/2 med. sweet onion, chopped
1/2 green bell pepper, chopped (optional)
1 pkg. tortilla strips salad toppers (or bite-size Tostitos chips)
1 pkg. Mexican shredded cheese

Directions:
1. In large Dutch oven, add all but the last two ingredients, stir together over medium heat. (The flavors mix together so that no extra seasoning is needed.)
2. Cover and cook for 15 minutes (or lower heat and simmer for 30 minutes).
3. Stir, then serve into bowls and top each with a handful of tortilla strips and 1/4 c. of cheese.

*Substitute leftover chicken. Cut into cubes or strips and brown with paprika and a little salt before adding to the pot.

Other options: Add a dollop of sour cream or a couple slices of ripe avocado.

100_3967

***

Thought of the Week: I am becoming very annoyed with our AT&T wireless 2 Wire. It disconnects from the Internet several times a day. I have done two system restores since Christmas, disconnected/reconnected the modem, and searched for online solutions to no avail. What I fear I will have to do is call AT&T and ask what the heck is going on. Why fear? Because it’s such a friggin’ hassle! It takes forever to reach a real person and then you’re transferred one or two times to somebody else and you have to retell what the problem is…I think, AT&T is getting too big for its britches. It was forced out of monopolism decades ago and has slowly, defiantly tried to rebig itself. But with each acquisition of new technology and competitor its service and efficiency decreases. Every time I go online I wonder how many millions of people are also using AT&T and slowing things down? How many towers are being overwhelmed? Why are they being overwhelmed or even if they can be? If they cannot be, if the towers are perfectly capable of no-problem signals, then why the heck are we having so much trouble?

atandt

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealogy, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 19 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Recipe and Thought for the Week and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tortilla Soup

  1. mskatykins says:

    I’ve always wanted to know how you make this… my friend used to talk about making this. I’m sure I’ve read a book or watched a film with the same title… I totally agree with the cooking with love. As for sorting issues out with technology, it can be so stressful/frustrating when dealing with customer service. 🙂

    Like

    • Cyranette says:

      Danny and I just finished eating this soup. He gave me two thumbs up! 🙂 (If you’re ever this way, I’ll make it for you.) Can you buy all the ingredients or facsimilies of them there?

      Like

Leave a Reply

