Brownie Surprise

For a Valentine party on Wednesday, I decided to make some cream cheese pinwheels and marble cupcakes. So, I set up 18 paper cups in two tins and start mixing the batter, but something is wrong. It’s too thick. I look at the box again and see that it is a brownie and not a cake mix. Crud! I shrug, manage to make 14 brownie cakes, and they vanish at the party with Danny and I sharing one. (I had to do a taste test, of course.)

Recipe of the Week: Brownie Surprise

1 Duncan Hines Marble Brownie Mix
1/2 c. coconut oil (or veg. oil) divided
2 eggs
1 tbs. water
1/4 c. coconut flakes
3 tsp. almond extract, divided
1/3 c. strawberry or cherry preserves
1 container dark chocolate frosting (or make your own)

Directions: Preheat oven to 350F.
1. Mix brownie packet as directed, add coconut and 1 tsp. almond extract. Fill each paper cup cake half full; batter will be thick.
2. Add 1/2 tsp. of preserves to middle of each cup.
3. Prepare cream cheese packet as directed. Spoon into each cup. Swirl it around.
4. Bake for 25 minutes or until toothpick in middle comes out clean. Cool on rack.
5. Stir in 2 tsp. almond extract to frosting and spread atop cooled brownies.

100_0099100_0105

***

Thought of the Week: Our four-year-old granddaughter, Ripley, worried herself to pieces this week about handing out Valentine cards to the boys in her M-W-F mornings daycare class. Monday morning she didn’t want to go to school, because she didn’t want to talk to boys and didn’t want them to talk to her. Daughter-in-law Amy reminded her that Ben and Calvin were boys, to which she rolled her eyes and said, “Noooo, they’re cousins!” Tuesday, she kept asking Daddy, “How are we going to hand out Valentine cards to the boys? What are we going to do? How are we going to do it? What is the teacher going to make us do?” and gave herself a stomach ache. (When I heard this, I was very surprised. She’s too young to be worrying about such things.) On Wednesday, Jud stayed to keep Ripley calm and the teacher gathered the students in a circle on the floor. When the teacher asked who wanted to hand out their valentines first, Ripley eagerly raised and wiggled her hand and then passed out her cards with no problem. For heaven’s sake! All that ta-doo about nothing! Kids! The girl is going to give herself an ulcer before she’s twelve!

jud and ripley dec. 2012

(Jud and Ripley)

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Recipe and Thought for the Week and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Brownie Surprise

  1. Lynne says:

    I am so glad you are writing Monnie, It’s been something you needed and wanted to do for all your life, I am sure. It makes you whole. .

    Like

  2. Cyranette says:

    Hi Lynne. It’s a surprise to find you here. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

