Early Spring

Winter weather in Texas is anything but predictable. You can be in short sleeves at noon and a heavy coat several hours later, and vice versa. This winter has been no exception. Some of the trees didn’t lose all their leaves until last month, instead of in November. Some insects never went away as usual, because it never got cold enough. Some migrating butterflies and birds have begun coming back. And, some trees are leafing out, while others are showing off their blooms. We’re all confused.

Red Bud Tree

Red Bud Tree

greening up

greening up

Mountain Laurel

Mountain Laurel

However gorgeous spring might be, an early one only means we will be having an overly hot summer and probably continuous drought. Global warming is the pits!

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous Thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Early Spring

  1. Twenty years ago in WV, I met a retired Princeton physics prof. He mentioned this Global Warming thing. Great guy, but at the time I thought he was a little off. He said it wouldn’t be just warming, but extremes. I remembered years later what he said. Twenty years ago. He was not “off” after all. We are.

    Like

  2. mskatykins says:

    Beautiful pictures! Yesterday I caught a glimpse of the sun through the trees when I was at university. I wish I had had my camera with me… 😦

    Like

    • Cyranette says:

      Everyday more and more blooms and neon green leaves appear. I love it! Yet only a few hours north it’s snowing…I try to keep a camera with me, but sometimes the drivers behind me don’t appreciate my stopping to snap it, which is irksome. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

