Creamy Pork Medallions

When I baked pork chops in those McCormick bags with seasonings, they came out tender and tasty. However, Danny didn’t like the idea of plastic particles going into the meat, so I changed my ways. Although we have sinced learned that the bags are made of nylon, I have not returned to using them. And, everytime I have tried a new recipe for cooking moist pork, I have been disappointed – until now. Thanks to Jujucooks at food.com.

Recipe of the Week: Creamy Pork Medallions

1 pork loin or pork loin butterflied chops, cut into 1″ medallions
3/4 c. flour
1 c. white wine
1 c. heavy cream
3 minced garlic cloves or 2 tbs. minced garlic
3 tbs. Dijon mustard
2 tbs. butter
2 tbs. olive oil
sea salt and pepper

Directions:
1. Season flour with salt and pepper.
2. On medium high heat, melt butter and oil together.
3. Slightly flatten medallions with meat tenderizer and dredge through flour. Discard leftover flour.
4. Place medallions in hot pan and brown on both sides for 2 minutes. Remove from pan and set aside on plate.
5. Add garlic to pan and brown for a minute, without over cooking.
6. Deglaze with white wine, reduce for a minute or two.
7. Add dijon mustard and mix well.
8. Lower heat and add cream, stirring everything together gently. Add sea salt and pepper to taste.
9. Place medallions back into the sauce and let simmer for a couple of minutes on low heat, turning them every once in a while so all surfaces can soak up the sauce.
10. Serve with wild rice, pilaf, or pasta and a salad.

mustard 2

Thought of the Week: According to the optometrist, my eyes need a break from the computer. Actually, he said my orbs of blue were strained and suggested I stop writing and reading, as well. Not going to happen, doc! We compromised: I stay off the PC, decrease my reading, and use some expensive eye drops for a couple weeks, and he won’t prescribe an around-the-clock eye mask. What a friggin’ bummer! If I’m a good girl, I can begin blogging again around the middle of the month; therefore, I will resume posting these Friday recipes and thoughts on March 22nd. Until then, bon appetit!

no pc

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Recipe and Thought for the Week and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

