Chicken and Spinach Casserole

Roaming through Treasures of Light Cooking, I came across a side dish that I turned into an entree…

Recipe of the Week: Chicken and Spinach Casserole

8 oz. uncooked spinach fettuccine noodles
1 c. fresh mushroom slices
1 green onion with top, finely chopped
1 clove garlic, minced
4 to 5 c. fresh spinach, coarsely chopped (or 1 pkg. frozen spinach, thawed and drained)
1 tbs. water
1 container (15 oz.) nonfat ricotta cheese
1/4 c. skim milk
1 large egg, slightly beaten (or 1/4 c. Eggbeaters)
1/2 tsp. ground nutmeg
1/2 tsp. ground black pepper
1-1/2 c. grilled chicken, cut into bite-size pieces
1/4 c. shredded reduced fat Swiss cheese

Directions: Preheat oven to 350F.
1. Cook pasta according to pkg. directions, omitting the salt. Drain. set aside.
2. Spray medium skillet with nonstick cooking spray. Add mushrooms, green onion, and garlic. Cook and stir over medium heat until mushrooms are softened. Add spinach and water. Cover; cook until spinach is wilted, about 3 minutes.
3. Combine ricotta cheese, milk, egg, nutmeg, and black pepper in large bowl. Gently stir in noodles, vegetables, and chicken; toss to coat evenly.
4. Lightly coat 2-quart baking dish with nonstick cooking spray. Spread noodle and chicken mixture into casserole. Sprinkle with Swiss cheese.
5. Bake 25 to 30 minutes or until knife inserted halfway to center comes out clean.
6. Serve with flat bread and fruit.

spinach fettuccine

*****

Thought of the Week: Is vocal communication becoming a lost skill? Will technology and the digital age ultimately result in humans evolving into non-speaking beings? 🙂 I doubt it. While texting and online social networking seem to be the growing norm, there are still plenty of people who like to talk, prefer to talk, like to hear themselves talk, and can’t stop talking. Therefore, another question might be: Will some people continue to talk even when no one talks back?

talking heads

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealogy, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 19 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Recipe and Thought for the Week and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chicken and Spinach Casserole

  1. Joe Leap says:

    I posted on the older blog with Gabriel & Samuel’s photos…..my contact info is listed below. I would love to speak with you about our shared ancestors. Thank you.

    Like

  2. Joe Leap says:

    This recipe looks awesome, BTW.

    Like

Leave a Reply

