Hello Again

It has been nigh on 18 months since my last post. Life has not become less hectic or the family more healthy, but my mind has eased and I’m waking to creative thoughts again. With this need and desire to express myself, having come out of hibernation, I have decided to resume blogging. Though posts may not occur frequently or consistently, the new year seems to be the right time to restart…

Rex Anthony Parker was born in October, making my sister Diane a first time  grandma. (I apologize for no cute pictures, but my motherboard busted a few weeks ago and I’m using hubby’s computer.)

Danny recovered from his quadruple bypass quite well, though the long scar above his sternum and the three tube-holes beneath it will remain with him forever. His left carotid needs scraping out to avoid another stroke, but more worrisome is the large mass growing in his upper colon. It was found last month during his first colonoscopy and Thursday a most competent surgeon, Dr. Mario Rossbach, will talk with us about removing it, hopefully soon. In order to do so, the ascending colon and part of the transverse colon will be removed as well; malignancy will be determined before the end of the surgery, I imagine. The good news is that no colostomy bag will be required afterwards.

My younger sister Lisa will be having a heart valve replacement tomorrow. Her 17-year-old daughter Kristina has myriad health issues and will be on many prayer lists as well.

Dad died on June 18, 2014. It was sudden and shocked the family to the core; we had all assumed that Mom’s poor health would take her from us first. For me, the most difficult part to swallow has been that life and time won’t friggin’ stop long enough for us to catch our breath. Everything just keeps going and going and going, forcing us to speed grieve! Since his passing, my sister Lynne and I have been caring for Mom most of the time. We have developed a routine and our other siblings fill in when they can.

Christmas was always Dad’s favorite holiday. So the closer 2014’s came, the less confident I felt about getting through it. None of our grandchildren would be in town, which added to my distress. However, something wonderful happened: Dad made himself felt in a so-Dad way! Lynne’s husband, Ron, as administrator of the estate, gathered Mom and the five of us (sister Leslie being in Virginia) around the dining room table. Our spouses and children filled the periphery behind us, while Ron explained that Dad knew he would not be here for Christmas, had dictated a love letter to Mom, and had given instructions for a numbers game for the six of us. After giving the letter to Mom, Ron told us Dad wanted us kids to draw numbers from a dish and choose, accordingly, one of his Christmas toys (he had quite a collection) and one of the six identically wrapped square boxes at the end of the table. By the time the sweet letter had been passed around and we had taken our turns at choosing (one of the nieces chose for Leslie), we were all smiling and heart-warmed. What a guy! What a dad! I drew number 6, so I went last. Inside the boxes were various old coins he saved over the years, including some silver dollars from his grandparents.  After that, Christmas was a piece of cake! Thanks, Dad. And thank you, God, for giving him to us.

Happy New Year to All!

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hello Again

  1. Liz Taylor says:

    Monnie, so nice to hear from you, but sad to hear of the relentless challenges and loss you have experienced. Valerie and I think of you two often and fondly. I hope Danny gets good news soon, but if not I am so glad he has you to stand by him when he needs strength and love. Liz

    Like

  2. Cyranette says:

    Hello dear girl! We think of you often as well and can’t wait to see you again. Danny’s surgery is scheduled for the 28th, but right now my sister is still in ICU after last week’s open heart surgery and having a more difficult time than expected. Soooo happy to hear from you. xoxo

    Like

  3. Dennis Nino says:

    Hi Monnie, I’ve read your blog in the past. Its good to see that you are back at it. Please give my best to Danny. I am praying for a complete healing. Best wishes to you both.
    Sincerely,
    Dennis Nino
    Campbell, California

    Like

  4. Cyranette says:

    Well, my goodness, Denny, I had no idea you kept up with my blog. Thank you. Danny is doing very well. Thank you for your prayers. Big hug!

    Like

Leave a Reply

