Computer Messes

On December 23rd, my 2010 HP Pavilion quit working. The monitor went black and nothing I did could start Windows. Being so close to Christmas, it didn’t seem so important and I let it slide. After the holidays, since our tech guy was unavailable until mid-January, I coped with sharing Danny’s PC. To add to the frustration, however, was the back-up issue. I had only backed up documents and photos/videos through the end of October, so I had to stumble along with a flash drive and remake some of his New Millennium Builders construction invoices and proposals.

When the computer man finally came, I had such high expectations. Unfortunately, after two days of fiddling with it – which did not sit well with Danny – he determined the motherboard was busted. We could either buy a used motherboard or new computer. We opted for the latter. HP has served us well, yet their big corporate attitude of thank-you-for-buying/now-you’re-on-your-own has not endeared us. Windows being Windows, I didn’t think it mattered if we tried a different brand.

On January 22nd, we bought a Dell computer at Office Depot and paid them to transfer all documents and pictures from the old hard drive to the new one. It was supposed to be ready in 24-48 hours. HAH! I couldn’t pick it up until February 3rd. I started it up on the 4th and, after downloading my Office 2007 software and having AVAST security put in place, all seemed fine…On Feb. 5th it quit working. After another vain attempt by the computer guy, I took it back to Office Depot for them to figure out. “It’ll be tomorrow, ” I was told by a different techy, but that did not happen. A week later, after several phone calls about the status, I went by to check on it and was informed it was unrepairable.

I requested an immediate refund but, since we had paid by check, I was told Office Depot would mail a refund to us in 1-3 business days. I could only acquiesce; however, when they had the audacity to ask if I wanted to buy another computer from them, I replied, “Absolutely not! Just transfer my data from the hard drive to some flash drives.” I was so pissed I didn’t say “please.”

Today is February 28th and we have not received their check. Although Danny has called them about this issue several times, we have had zero satisfaction. OD used to be so dependable that we bought several of computers and all-in-one printers from them over the years. No longer. Last week, we bought an HP Slimline Pavilion from Best Buy.

I wish I could report that all is well with this device, but alas that is not possible. These friggin’ automatic updates and restartings could very well land me in the psycho ward.

pavilion slimline

About Cyranette

I have been writing since I was 11 and am now a grandmother of 9. Aside from my family, I love writing, reading, movies, gardening, genealology, and travel. I met my soulmate online and we've been married 18 years. I am a survivor of rape, abuse, and cancer. I believe in love, kindness, and common sense. I was born/raised in Indiana and have lived in Massachusetts, Texas, and California. I have visited: most of the United States, British Columbia, Germany, Austria, and Costa Rica. My husband and I would like to visit England, Europe, and New Zealand and to take a train ride along the Canadian/American border. I have written essays, articles, short stories, a romance novel, a self-help book, and several children's books.
This entry was posted in Technology. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Computer Messes

  1. jmmcdowell says:

    The tech world really doesn’t understand the concept of quality, or service for that matter, does it? My fingers are crossed that my 2010 Dell with Windows 7 holds out until Windows 8 is history. I’ve heard that 9 will be more like 7. But if mine dies before then, I may just invest in a “business” computer that still runs 7. My husband’s computer has 8, and I’ve never seen a more worthless operating system. 😦

    Like

    • Cyranette says:

      Absolutely not! It’s all about getting the next thing out there and making money whether the product is good/useful or not. 9? Best Buy told me that 10 is nearly ready and will be more like 7. For heaven’s sake! One of my tech’s said that he made most of his money switching people’s PCs from 8 back to 7. Incredible. BTW: I’ve been told that Mac is best for writing and graphics. What do you think?

      Like

      • jmmcdowell says:

        Mac is supposed to be best for graphics, but it’s also so much more expensive. And that can be a major drawback for many people. I’ve always been PC-based in school and work, and until Windows 8 came around, I didn’t have too many major complaints about the operating systems. But with the disaster that is my husband’s computer, that’s changing! Since finding Scrivener, it’s become my preferred writing software, and it’s available for both Mac and PC, which is good. I guess for now, I’m still a PC girl, but Microsoft ain’t making it easy to stay that way.

        Like

Leave a Reply

